is barley gluten free

If you think that which meal is best and can improve your health then look for further than whole grains. Why people eat a diet that has barley in it? However, while eating this meal, one thing that pops in mind is barley gluten free? Well breaking the ice the barley is not at all free from gluten. In fact, this is among those meals which contain a high proportion of gluten. So for those people who are suffering from celiac problems or digestive tract issues must avoid eating barley. Not only is this but there many people who are barley intolerant must shove away this meal from their diet plan.

Things that Contains Barley

Well, the list of food that contains barley in it is quite long. So to cut down the list here are some of the widely used food that has barley in them:

  • Milk
  • Flour
  • Beer
  • Malted candies
  • Malted Cookies
  • Malted drinks
  • Barley Pearls
  • Barley grass

So, all the above mention meals and drinks should be avoided if you are gluten intolerant. Ways Whenever, you visit the supermarket, always look for the label and avoid things if it contains barley.

What exactly is Gluten?

There is much discussion going on that is barley gluten free, but the question is what exactly gluten is?

Well, coming to the answer gluten is an amalgamation of different kind of proteins. Gluten is not only found in protein, but it is also found in:

  • Rye
  • Cereals
  • Bulgur
  • Wheat
  • Semolina
  • Pumpernickel

So anything that is made from the above-mentioned ingredients will contain a high amount of gluten in it. So if you are gluten intolerant, then you must avoid all these things or else you will fell a prey to gluten allergies.

gluten free barley

Symptoms of Gluten Intolerance

The Symptom of gluten intolerance varies from mild to moderate to severe. Some people with healthy immune system fights well against the gluten allergies but some people simply can’t so they fell for the symptoms and allergies.

Some of the alarming signs of gluten intolerance include:

  • Sudden weight loss
  • Flatulence
  • Diarrhea
  • Mal-absorption
  • Digestive tract problems
  • Intestinal scarring
  • Lethargy
  • Vomit
  • Stomach ache

So if upon eating barley you witness any of these symptoms then it is a clear indication that you are gluten intolerant, and you must skip this meal.

There are other signs that people mostly link it to the gluten intolerance but in reality, these might be due to the co-morbidities or due to some other medical problem. These includes:

  • Skin rashes
  • Asthma
  • Infertility
  • Scarring
  • Inflammation
  • Edema
  • Depression
  • Headache
  • Cramps
  • Arthritis
  • Numbness
  • Tingling of nerve endings

So if you witness any of these, then you must visit your doctor.

Tests for Gluten

Gluten insufficiency gives rise to allergies, which is due to antibody and antigen reaction. So whenever the confirmation for gluten allergy is required the blood test is carried out to detect the number of certain antibodies in your veins.

Apart from this, the biopsy of the intestine is also performed. However, these both the test can be indecisive, and the main reason behind the allergy may remain hidden. So if your doctor is in doubt, then he must exclude the gluten from diet to check if the allergy is actually due to the gluten. If your symptoms fade away, then it is evident that you are gluten intolerant, and you must avoid foods that contain gluten.

Gluten Free Ingredients

So if you are looking for food that is free from gluten then you must pick from the list given below:

  • Chia seeds
  • Coconut flour ( use instead of wheat)
  • Flaxseeds( use instead of eggs)
  • Amaranth (High nutritional value)
  • Soybeans ( can be used in place of flakes, barley, and cereals)
  • Lentils (Kind of a pulse with less protein content)
  • Job’s tears ( use in place of pearl barley
  • Sesame, sunflower and pumpkin seeds
  • Milo
  • Sorghum

How to Use the Gluten Free Ingredients in Your Meal

  • Amaranth

Amaranth is entirely gluten free so you can use it in any food. It is used in soups, breakfast, and salads. It thickens up when cooked for too long so make sure you use the right proportion of water.

  • Teff

Who does not love pancakes? So try making pancakes from teff. Teff can also be utilized in the variety of soups, desserts, and even savory dishes.

So I hope now the debate that is barley gluten free ends here because the answer is pretty clear now.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.