Does Oatmeal Have Gluten

Oats have been known as outstanding and a nutritious grain from ancient times because of its various health benefits. A study has also been conducted to find out does oatmeal have gluten or not?

For some of you, gluten may be a new word, and a question may arise why gluten is harmful.

What is Gluten?

Gluten is a family of proteins and is basically present in food grains. The chewy and stretchy texture of the bread is because of the presence of gluten. There is an extensive list of what contains gluten. Grains and food that contain gluten are wheat, rye, barley, pasta, bread, noodles, crackers, etc.

Why is Gluten Harmful?

Individuals who are sensitive to gluten, for them gluten intake can result in gluten allergy. In gluten, allergy body becomes unable to digest gluten protein. For gluten sensitive individuals it becomes difficult for the digestive enzymes that are present in the gut to break down gluten. As a result of gluten sensitivity, celiac disease occurs.

In celiac disease, an autoimmune response is produced by the body against gluten which results in damage to the intestinal lining. For such individuals, a gluten-free diet is the best choice to avoid such health issues.

Gluten Free Diet:

Oat also belongs to a class of grains, and it can be used as a substituent of wheat, but there is again a lot of confusion that; is oatmeal gluten free?

The research was conducted at University of Chicago Celiac Disease Center; to answer this question “Does oatmeal have gluten?”

Results of this study suggested that oats are gluten free as they do not belong to the type of wheat, barley or rye grain, which contain gluten. In oats instead of gluten, avenin protein is present.

Oats naturally do not contain any gluten but it becomes difficult to answer a question “is oatmeal gluten-free?” when we consider the way how oats are grown in fields.

Sometimes oats are grown on the same field where previously gluten-containing grains like wheat, barley and rye were grown because of this gluten grain grows with oat and contaminate the quality of oat crop. Oat crop, therefore, does not remain 100% gluten-free. Sometimes oats also become contaminated during the packaging process, as same equipment are used to package both wheat and oat.

The question that arises next in one’s mind does oatmeal have gluten if they are labeled organic. Oats gluten free surety is not judged by its organic labeling. Always check the gluten-free certification label even if you buy organic oats.

gluten free oatmeal

Oat also belongs to a class of grains, and it can be used as a substituent of wheat.

Gluten Buying Tips

When you are in the supermarket and about to buy oats again a question that arises is, does oatmeal have gluten? Here some tips are shared that will help you to buy100% gluten free oat:

  • Do not buy from bulk bins as same equipment is used to scoop out wheat and oats and can result in contamination.
  • Always check the “Gluten-free” tag or label on oats before buying them.
  • Avoid buying or eating oatmeal from a restaurant because there is a high risk of contamination.

Health Benefits of Oats:

Through various studies, it has been found that Gluten-free diet usually has an inadequate amount of fiber, vitamin B, folate and minerals such as iron, magnesium, selenium, manganese and zinc. However, oat contains all vitamins and minerals in adequate amount. Oats are also an excellent source of fiber.

Moreover, oats can improve risk factors for heart disease by maintaining cholesterol level, can aid in weight loss process and prevent diabetes as well by properly regulating blood sugar and insulin level.

If Oats are Gluten free, then what’s the reason for stomach ache?

Sometimes people develop symptoms like gastrointestinal troubles, bloating, cramp or diarrhea even if they eat gluten-free oat. The reason is a high level of fiber present in oats and can be a problem for individuals who aren’t used to high fiber diet. After some time digestive system adjusts to high fiber food and such symptoms gets vanished.

Drinking lots of water helps to resolve such digestive problems. Soaking oats overnight also contribute to addressing such issues.

Varieties of Oats

Steel-Cut Oats

They are known as Irish or Scottish oats. Have less impact on blood sugar level. Have chewy texture.

Rolled Oats

Oats are passed through steamed rollers and pressed to make them soft. After pressing, they are dried. Cook in less time than steel oats. Oats Gluten is nothing to worry about now.

Old-Fashioned Oats

They are also rolled oats but have a different name.

Oat Flour

Oats are in the form of powder. Oat flour is passed through steaming, rolling and pressing phase.  Oat flour is not a good choice because there are chances that it can elevate blood sugar level. Before moving towards gluten free diet and using oats as a meal, it is a good practice to consult your doctor. Your doctor will properly guide you how to use oats as a meal and what amount of oatmeal is suitable for you. Now the answer is pretty much clear regarding does oatmeal have gluten or not.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here